Blog

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Attach Files to GQueues Tasks, Including Seamless Google Drive Integration

Associating documents to tasks has been one of the most requested features by users, and starting today you can now attach files to tasks!

The new Attachments feature integrates seamlessly with Google Drive providing an intuitive experience with functionality that "just works."

Attach existing documents and folders from Google Drive, upload files from your computer by simply dragging them onto a task, and even take pictures or record voice notes from your mobile device.

Plus, GQueues manages the attachments for you, updating the necessary permissions to give other people access when you assign tasks or share a queue for collaborative work.

Watch the video below for a complete overview.


Beta testers who had early access quickly realized the value of this new feature, reporting that Attachments had "streamlined communication," "saved time and allowed me to stay more organized," and "made GQueues the place where one can track every aspect of tasks that need to be done."

Try out the new Attachments feature now and see what it can do for you!

4 comments:

  1. Cameron, thanks for rolling this feature out! The integration with Drive seems seamless!

    ReplyDelete
  2. WOW, it has arrived!
    great job, thank you sir :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. But how about edit files online? It duplivcates the files in Drive and the old version remains attached to the task, right?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Actually there are no duplicates or old versions with attachments in GQueues if you are attaching files from Drive. When you "attach" a file from Google Drive to a task in GQueues, it's actually just storing a reference to the file on the task. So when you click on the attachment in GQueues, you are opening and editing the ACTUAL file that lives in Google Drive. Anyone else who has access to the file will see any changes you make.

    If you upload a file from your computer then obviously a copy is being created in Google Drive (and the original still lives on your computer). But any changes you make to the file that is in Drive will be visible to others with access.

    I hope this helps clarify.

    -Cameron

    ReplyDelete