Blog

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

How to Share Google Tasks and Increase your Team’s Productivity

For many individuals, using an online task manager is a critical part of staying organized and tracking everything that needs to get done. It’s the primary tool in your productivity system that makes you a superstar when it comes to following through and never dropping the ball.

At some point you’ve probably had a moment where you wanted to share a list with your spouse, assistant, or entire team.  You instinctively recognize that if tracking tasks keeps you organized, then having a shared list of tasks with others will increase efficiency, keep everyone on the same page, and help reach your collective goals.

And your instincts are correct. According to a Frost & Sullivan study which surveyed decision makers in businesses across the world, effective collaboration in teams has a 36% positive impact on productivity and 29% positive impact on profitability.
"Effective collaboration in teams has a 36% positive impact on productivity and 29% positive impact on profitability."
However, if you use Google Tasks, when you’ve tried to share your lists with others, you probably got stuck.  Don't worry though - you’re not alone, and there’s hope for finding collaborative productivity paradise!

Steps to share Google Task lists and collaborate with others


First the bad news: It’s not possible to share lists directly in Google Tasks. Previously Google Tasks had an option to copy a list into an email and send it to someone else. The other person couldn’t collaborate on the list in real-time, but at least s/he could view a static version of your tasks. However, when Google updated Tasks in 2018, even this limited sharing functionality disappeared, forcing users to continue looking for an easy way to coordinate work together.

Now the good news: You can share your Google Tasks with your entire team by importing them into GQueues, which integrates with all the Google products you already use.

Follow the 3 steps below to collaborate on your task lists in real-time:
  1. Sign in to GQueues using your Google Account
  2. Create a team and add members with permissions you choose
  3. Import the desired lists from Google Tasks
Team members will be notified of the newly shared lists and can start collaborating immediately.

A few items to note
This is a one-time import from Google Tasks.  Once you’ve moved your tasks to GQueues, you should ignore or delete the tasks in Google Tasks, since changes made by you and collaborators are only visible within GQueues.

A separate calendar is created in Google Calendar for each Team you set up in GQueues.  This means you can have multiple Teams sharing tasks, all with their own shared calendar to keep everything clean and organized!

Once your tasks are in GQueues you will also benefit from a number of other features you’ve probably been longing for including attachments, search, comments and tagging.

Try sharing your tasks now and experience the gains from managing work collaboratively with your team!

No comments:

Post a Comment